plug for 200A dc inverter

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Reactions
(@ambo2004)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hi ,

Total newbie here. Hoping to do some practicing tom.

I recently bought a Hitronic 200A DC inverter from Goldpeak. I'm looking for a 30A or 40A plug but was not able to get one. Most of the available plugs are rated at 15A max.
I checked the power cable and noticed that it has a gauge of 2.5mm or awg 14. It means that it is rated at maximum of 15A.

Can I use the 15A plug? I'll just need to remove the ground prong.
Can I use it on a ordinary household outlet?

By the way, what is the color of the ground wire? the 3 colored wires are Blue, Brown and Yellow w/ Green stripe? What are the power wires? I was able to check it when i tested it in Goldpeak.

Please advise.

Thank you,
Ambo2004

Posted : 25/03/2016 9:40 am
rosy
 rosy
(@rosy)

Check out on Metalworking tools, my review on my HiTronic 300amp arc welder, you will see what plug I have been using for the welder.

Its Omni 20amp plug and never had any issues with it since late 2013.

Hope this helps ! 😉

CIGWELD Weldskill 250 amp Mig Welder
AHP Alpha-TIG 200X welder
HITRONIC 300 Amp DC Inverter IGBT Welder
YAMATO 300 amp AC Stick Welder
YAMATO 200 amp DC Inverter IGBT Welder
DeWALT Chopsaw
HOBART and ESAB Welding Helmets
cloned STIHLs
MS 044 chainsaw
MS 070 chainsaw

Posted : 25/03/2016 1:07 pm
(@thugstools_413)
Trusted Member

well i could train u for 5 days about arc welding just provide me accomodation and meal when im going back in philippines probably this coming august...

Posted : 26/03/2016 2:11 am
(@ambo2004)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hi Rosy,
Thanks for the advise.
I bought the 20A Omni plug. My remaining dilemma is how to identify the power wires from the ground wire.
When i peeked between the slots, i saw that the blue and brown wires goes to the power switch. When I use a multi tester and toggle the switch , the resistances between the wires goes from zero to infinite.