Clear all

Yamato 200 dc inverter as TIG welder

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Reactions
(@greentech)
Topic starter

Good day people,

Have anybody here have use the Yamato 200 dc arc welder or any DC arc welder as aTIG welder by purchasing a TIG adapter? I am planning to weld thin stainless steel sheet about 0.5 mm thick. The Yamato dc arc welder which I purchase seem to have a hard time producing an arc on the minimum setting of 20 amp , this setting at 20 amp seem to be the best setting to weld thin stainless sheet using 1/16 inch 308L stainless steel rod. but sadly it was having a hard time producing an arc, setting to to 40amp easily produce an arc, but naturally it result in blow through hole in the sheet. Any suggestion among the experts?

Posted : 21/05/2012 6:38 pm
JayL
 JayL
(@jayl)

Re: Yamato 200 dc inverter as TIG welder

I'm no expert but I think at 0.5mm it's pushing stick welding to it's very limits on thin materials.

Probably I can Mig weld this thickness using 0.023 wire but I reckon Tig is the way to go for this application.

I'm hoping some other more experienced members will chime in.

Millermatic 180 Autoset Mig Welder
Miller Spoolmate 100 Spool Gun
Victor Firepower 350 Oxy Ace Outfit
3M Speedglas 9002X AD Helmet
Makita LC1230 Dry Cut Saw
Ingersoll Rand Air Tools
Snap On Tools
Metabo Power Tools
Norseman Drill Cutting Tools
Bosch Power Tools
3M PPS

Posted : 21/05/2012 7:37 pm
(@bryant77)
Reputable Member

The thinnest stainless steel sheet I have seen welded using arc welding is 0.9mm thick.

Using AC/DC TIG Welding you can weld aluminum as thin as a foil.

Posted : 21/05/2012 8:21 pm
rosy
 rosy
(@rosy)

Hi there bro greentech,