Bosch GMR1 or Makita RP0900

12 Posts
6 Users
0 Reactions
 tris
(@tris)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Im planning to get my first router and I would like to get your opinion which is better the Bosch GMR1 or Makita RP0900. I know the GMR1 is a trimmer and the RP0900 is a plunge. the RP0900 is more powerful vs GMR1 but GMR1 has a higher RPM. Cost wise it is almost the same. TIA

Posted : 06/04/2011 8:02 pm
 tris
(@tris)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Re: Bosch GMR1 or Makita RP0900

or better yet, you may recommend other better option.

Posted : 06/04/2011 8:04 pm
(@beedigo)
Estimable Member

I'm not an expert, but I would recommend this, if you have the means;

http://www.amazon.com/Triton-MOF001C-4-Horsepower-Precision-Router/dp/B000DINFHY/ref=sr_1_1?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1302097268&sr=1-1

I know some members would agree.;)

Posted : 06/04/2011 9:45 pm
(@joey81)

Both are low power routers. Best suited for trimming, but underpowered for general-purpose routing.

I haven't seen either of them. If I were you I'd go for the Makita. Its almost twice as powerful as the GMR1 and I trust the brand name better. But that is assuming you'll only be doing trimming.

If you need an all-around router, I'd agree with beedigo. 😎

Posted : 06/04/2011 10:49 pm
 tris
(@tris)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

I'm looking at the triton and its look really good. but i think the price will be out of my budget. and is it available locally or I have to ship it from the US? are they 220V compatible with our current. Thanks.

Posted : 07/04/2011 10:55 am
JayL
 JayL
(@jayl)

I'm looking at the triton and its look really good. but i think the price will be out of my budget. and is it available locally or I have to ship it from the US? are they 220V compatible with our current. Thanks.

Those Tritons are 110V. They would work here but you will need a step down voltage transformer ( 220 to 110V )

Millermatic 180 Autoset Mig Welder
Miller Spoolmate 100 Spool Gun
Victor Firepower 350 Oxy Ace Outfit